Are you a fan of Guyana, South America? Subscribe to our mailing list so we can email you with updates from time to time.

Georgetown – The Capital City

This article was first created on the 16th of January, 2016, and last updated on the 16th of January, 2016 by Patrick Carpen.

Georgetown is the capital city of Guyana and it is also the only city. The city of Georgetown is located in Administrative Region No. 4. Guyana is divided into ten Administrative Regions.

The population of Georgetown is approximately 150,000 and comprises of the East Indian, African and mixed races.

The main economic activities in Georgetown include manufacturing, retail outlets and night clubs.

There are a number of private and public schools in Georgetown. Some private schools include Mae’s Academy and School  of the Nations.

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments