Are you a fan of Guyana, South America? Subscribe to our mailing list so we can email you with updates from time to time.

National Holidays in Guyana

Last updated: July 7, 2014 at 17:22 pm

holiday photoGuyanese celebrate fifteen national holidays. On these days, most business places and schools are closed. They are as follows:

Religious Holidays in Guyana

Christian Holidays

Christmas – Christmas is observed in Guyana on the 25th of December each year to celebrate the birth of our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. According to Christian doctrine, after Adam and Eve sinned in the Garden of Eden, God promised a Messiah, a Chosen One, A Christ who would come into the world to redeem it from sin. This Messiah is accepted by Christians as Jesus Christ. Even though the Christmas holiday is officially, the 25th of December each year, celebrations begin much earlier in the month, and extend all the way into the new year. The Christmas season is one of the merriest seasons of the year. Read more about the Christmas holiday by clicking here.

Good Friday – Good Friday is a national holiday in Guyana set aside the mark the day on which Jesus was crucified on the Cross of Calvary to redeem mankind from sin and death.

Easter – Easter is a national holiday in Guyana set aside to mark the day on which Jesus rose from the dead – three days after he was crucified on the Cross of Cavalry. His resurrection assures Christians of his power of death and the fact that He was send from God.

Boxing Day – Boxing Day, also called St. Stephen’s Day is a national holiday in Guyana to honor the Christian martyr, St. Stephen. On this day, people were supposed to prepare presents (in boxes) and take to friends and family.

Muslim Holidays in Guyana

Eid-ul-Fitr – This Muslim holiday marks the end of Ramadan – the month Muslim month of fasting.

Eid-ulAdha – This Muslim holiday celebrates Abraham’s willingness to sacrifice his son, Ishmael, as proof of his genuine love for Allah.

Youman Nabi – This Muslim holiday celebrates the birth and death of the prophet Mohamed.

Hindu Holidays

Phagwah – The festival of colors

Diwali – The festival of light.

Non-Religious National Holidays

Mashramani – Celebrate’s Guyana’s Republican status.

Labour Day – A holiday which honors workers in general as well as the Father of Trade Unionism, Mr Hubert Nathaniel Critchlow.

Caricom Day – Celebrates the anniversary of the start of CARICOM.

Emancipation – Celebrates the end of slavery.

New Year’s Day – The beginning of a new year.

Independence Day – May 26 each year is day dedicated to celebrate Guyana’s independence from the British Crown. Guyana gained independence on May 26th, 1966.

Notify of
1 Comment
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
5 months ago

I love reading