Wed. Aug 10th, 2022
    Are you enjoying GSA News? Get news stories delivered straight to your inbox!
    Be sure to like our Facebook Page: Guyana, South America for more!
    Photo: Sasenarine Singh

    2nd of August, 2020. Georgetown, Guyana, South America.

    Last updated: August 2, 2021 at 15:03 pm

    The Guyana Elections Commission has today, 2nd of August, 2020, declared the PPP/C the winner of the March, 2, 2020 elections in Guyana, South America. The Presidential Candidate, Dr. Irfaan Ali, and the Prime Ministerial Candidate, Retired Brigadier Mark Phillips, were sworn in this afternoon, 2nd of August, 2020 at around 3 PM as President and Prime Minister respectively.

    This development breaks a 5-month long political deadlock that ensued after the March 2, 2020 elections in Guyana that saw a series of cyclical and frustrating court cases that went from Guyana’s High Court to Appeal Courts and then the Caribbean Court of Justice.

    Earlier today, the GECOM Chair requested a meeting with leader of the opposition, Dr. Bharrat Jagdeo and outgoing president, Mr. David Granger. However, Dr. Jagdeo signaled that he would only entertain talks after a declaration by GECOM. At that point, Mr. Granger conceded that, by the rule of law, GECOM has the authority to declare a winner.

    An elections report reflecting the CARICOM certified recount results was finally prepared, after much evasion, by CEO of GECOM, Mr. Keith Lowenfield, and a request for swearing in was made shortly after. The swearing in was completed about two hours later on the afternoon of August 2, 2020.

    Former President, David Granger, in an official statement said that he, as consistently promised, respects the declaration of GECOM and thanks all supporters and partners while calling on Guyanese to maintain peace, order, and mutual respect in the country. He further maintained that the APNU/AFC would file an elections petitions with regards to the alleged irregularities and anomalies of the ballots.

    Meanwhile, former Minister of Security, Khemraj Ramjattan, has congratulated Dr. Irfaan Ali and called on all supporters to respect the results of the recount. “As of this moment, we are no longer ministers,” Mr. Ramjattan said in an interview with APNU/AFC radio.

    Notify of
    Inline Feedbacks
    View all comments
    Would love your thoughts, please comment.x